About Awards


VALA Student Awards 2012

The 2012 VALA Student Award for a student at RMIT University goes to Blair Gatehouse.

Congratulations, Blair, and good luck!

The 2012 VALA Student Award for a student at Monash University goes to Kirsten Thorpe.

Congratulations, Kirsten, and good luck!


VALA Travel Scholarship 2012

The VALA Travel Scholarship for 2012 is awarded to Warren Cheetham from City Libraries Townsville.

We look forward to hearing the results of Warren's research at the VALA2014 conference.

Congratulations, Warren!


VALA Award 2012

The winner of the VALA Award this year is The Research Hub, at Griffith University.

Congratulations, Griffith University!

Jo Morris, Manager of eResearch Services at Griffith University, accepted the 2012 VALA Award.


Do you know of an institution in Australia that has made really innovative use of information technology during the last two years? *Now* is your chance to nominate it (and it could be your own institution) for the 2012 VALA Award.

Nominations are now invited for the 2012 VALA Award, for applications implemented between July 2010 and June 2012 inclusive - go to VALA Award Nominations for more information.

Or perhaps you wonder how people get VALA Travel Scholarships, and whether you should try.  Go to Travel Scholarship Nominations and find out more - it's worth up to $13,000!

Applications for both the Award and the Travel Scholarships close on Friday 2 November 2012.


Williamson MedallionTo help fulfil its aims VALA grants the following awards:

  • The Robert D. Williamson Award - Awarded biennially to an individual or organisation who, in the opinion of the judging panel, is currently making an outstanding contribution to the development of information technology usage in Australian libraries and is positively and significantly influencing development in information technology usage within libraries.
  • The VALA Award - made biennially, is presented to the Australian library or information centre judged to have made the most innovative use of information technology during the previous two years.
  • From 2017 a new award will replace the VALA Travel Scholarship. VALA Travel Scholarships have been awarded every two years for individuals to undertake international travel to explore developments in the application of information technology in libraries and information services.


Award Winners 2015

The 2015 Student Award winners are:

  • Karen Seligman from RMIT University
  • Viviane Hessami from Monash University

Contact Us

PO Box 443,
Warrandyte Victoria 3113

icon Contact VALA here.

icon +61 3 9844 2933

icon www.vala.org.au

Go to top