2016 VALA Award

This year VALA was excited to receive 8 commendable nominations for the VALA Award, 2 of them deemed to be outstanding. As a result, and for the first time in the Award’s history, the VALA Committee is awarding joint recipients.  The 2016 VALA Award will be presented to:-

The National Library of Australia  for their edeposit service.

A one-stop-shop for publishers, the edeposit service is the public interface of an end-to-end digital collection management system, fully integrated with other NLA systems, enabling Australian publishers to deposit Australian digital publications in accordance with the new legal deposit provisions of the Copyright Act.

The University of Melbourne – data forensics lab.

The development of this service and lab is a first nationally for an academic library and a response to a growing demand to access and extract valuable research data and files from now obsolete systems and media. The Data service and forensics lab offers a range of services for examining, analyzing, recovering, re-using and preserving data stored in digital media in a forensically sound manner. The Data Forensics Lab can process a variety of modern and legacy computer storage media using state of the art purpose built hardware and software.

Congratulations, National Library of Australia and University of Melbourne!

The VALA Award recipients will each give a presention about their award winning project at the Celebrating Innovation event on Wednesday 23rd November.

Thank you to the other institutions who submitted entries including:

  • Deakin University Library
  • La Trobe University Borchardt Library
  • La Trobe University Research Commons
  • Newcastle Library
  • University of South Australia


Contact Us

PO Box 443,
Warrandyte Victoria 3113

icon Contact VALA here.

icon +61 3 9844 2933

icon www.vala.org.au

Go to top